Solid Groove: Auburn’s Debut Album “Parallels”

Auburn is a five piece from Massachusetts that was formed in 2006 and since then has found themselves atop of the heap of Boston hardcore bands, and rightfully so. Their sound is very heavy, yet has a very melodic side to it.  If I had to explain it I’d say it sounds like a mix of The Devil Wears Prada, As I Lay Dying, and fellow New Englanders Vanna. With that being said I think we need to take a look at their debut full length album Parallels which was released in late 2011 by CI Records.

Parallels starts off with the very Devil Wears Prada sounding intro track “What Lies Ahead”, and the groove centered single “I’m Over the Ups and Downs” a great track that has a very catchy chorus, and a hilarious music video. The next track is entitled “Weary Bones and Watering Eyes” which is a straight up hardcore style song that has a killer breakdown about a minute and a half into it. The next track is entitled “Reminisce” which is a track that features a great mix of melody and screamed vocals. The next track that I took a real liking to was “Freeman’s Legacy” which reminded me of Vanna’s song “Trashmouth” off their 2009 album A New Hope. “Vivid Dreams”, The final track of the album is my favorite and it’s one of the most unique songs I’ve heard. The songs intro features a great acoustic intro that goes into an electric driven group sung chorus with random screams throughout.

Auburn definitely has a future in this business. They also have a big tour this month called the Launch tour! Be sure to check them out in a town near you!

-B. Harlow

Check Out Auburn’s Hilarious Music Video for Their Son “I’m  Over The Ups and Downs”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Solid Groove: Auburn’s Debut Album “Parallels”

  1. mskatykins says:

    They do not sound anything like I was expecting, lol. The vocalist sort of reminds me of the vocalist from ‘The Cancer Bats’ – do you know them? Cool band, thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a comment