My Take on Brad Paisley’s “Accidentally Racist”

First of all I’d like to state that I feel music should have a message. I would also like to state that I like music that has a political message, but to me Brad Paisley’s “Accidentally Racist” ft. L.L. Cool J. makes a very akward statement. At first I thought this was comedy, but then I thought that it was probably a publicity stunt to promote Paisley’s new album, Wheelhouse which came out yesterday.

Here’s an honest review of the song. It’s a flop. It’s a terrible attempt at a political song based on history. The lyrics of the song are tacky.  “To the man that waited on me at the Starbucks down on Main, I hope you understand / When I put on that t-shirt, the only thing I meant to say is I’m a Skynyrd fan.”  Come on Paisley. What is that? Pure shit. LL Cool J’s lyrics aren’t any better like when he says  “RIP Robert E. Lee but I’ve gotta thank Abraham Lincoln for freeing me, know what I mean.” Another verse that is all together strange.

All in all a weird song.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “My Take on Brad Paisley’s “Accidentally Racist”

  1. mskatykins says:

    I love reading this blog, because otherwise I would miss out on loads of contemporary music issues…! lol. Actually the song contains lots of cliches as well – for most great writers (or those aspiring to greatness!) that’s a big thing to be avoided unless, of course, it’s used for the purpose of irony?! Hmm.

    Sorry, this actually seems really naff… the whole combination of rap and country. I wonder what the actual tone is here. Glad to have listened to it.

Leave a Reply

