In Flames, Trivium, Veil of Maya, and Kyng at the Worcester Palladium 2/17/12

B. Harlow

Friday February 17th, a day that had been marked on my calendar for weeks. Needless to say when the day came, I was excited. The main reason for the excitement was because on that day I would be seeing my favorite metal band Trivium play a show with Swedish metal veterans In Flames at the Worcester Palladium, and also because myself and a friend of mine got a chance to hang out with Trivium before the show.  Opening up the show was Kyng (Album Review Here) a rocking three piece that played a killer set. Next up was Veil of Maya, I did not know much about this band but they show something not many bands have, groove. Next was the almighty Trivium who played about a 50 minute set, followed by the melo-death pioneers, In Flames.

Kyng: Kyng played about six songs and really warmed the crowd up well. I feel as if most people didn’t think they fit the bill, but by the end of their set the whole audience was won over.  They played a great set including one of my favorite of theirs entitled ‘Falling Down’.

Veil of Maya: Don’t know too much about them but I hope to look into more of their music.

Trivium: As I said, one of my favorite bands so I’m very biased but they put on an amazing show. They started off with the title track of their new record In Waves’ (Roadrunner) .  Trivium then went on to perform two tracks off of their second album ‘Ascendancy’ (Roadrunner) and six other tracks from ‘In Waves’ Including one of my favorite tracks entitled ‘Caustic Are the Ties That Bind’ which I’ve seen them perform twice, and each time it’s a real showstopper. They then finished their set off with two tracks off 2008’s ‘Shogun’ (Roadrunner)  ‘Down From the Sky ‘ was first and then the almighty ‘Throes of Perdition’ finished off Trivium’s night in bombastic fashion.

In Flames: Interestingly enough In Flames has become one of my favorite bands since my friend Alex introduced them to me a couple years ago. From what I saw from my side of the stage was an awesome performance including ‘Sounds of a Playground Fading’ and ‘Deliver Us’ off of the band’s latest record Sounds of a Playground Fading’ (Century). Around the end of the fourth song ‘Alias’ My friend and I had the unfortunate experience of having beer spilled on us and seeing what was the beginnings of a wild night for Palladium security so we left. I had hoped to have seen the rest of In Flames set but being drenched in beer is just not the greatest feeling.

Overall a great show with four great bands, and a night I won’t soon forget!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “In Flames, Trivium, Veil of Maya, and Kyng at the Worcester Palladium 2/17/12

  1. Un article vraiment plein de bons conseils

  2. soup.io says:

    Vraiment passionnant : je crois que ce post intéresserait une meuf

  3. Je suis tombé sur votre site par chance et puis je ne le regrette pas du tout !!!

Leave a Reply

