Moving On: Wind In Sails- Set Adrift

Set Adrift

Yesterday many fans of Boston’s own Vanna were devastated to hear about Evan Pharmakis (singer/guitarist) and Chris Campbell (drummer) departing from the band. I myself, as a fan of Vanna was also sad to see this happen. I understand however, that living a life on the road is probably one of the roughest journeys one can make.  I hope that both Chris and Evan find happiness and that Vanna continues on as strong as it has been in the last few years.

Once all the emotion and my stomach settled I began digging on Youtube for old clips of Vanna performing. Instead I ended up stumbling upon a video of Evan Pharmakis’ new project Wind in Sails. The video is for the song ‘Set Adrift’ which is a song featuring a multi-tracked strummed acoustic, a very nice layered acoustic, and a very bluesy solo played on an electric guitar. The track that is about five and a half minutes in length seems to have a somber feel and seems to reflect Evan’s inner conflict between home and his former band. With that being said I have to say that it is one of the best songs that I’ve heard an independent artist produce.

Watch the video for ‘Set Adrift’ below:

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

